AP - 003

Interferon Alpha-2b zur Inhalation

Indikation: COVID-19 im Frühstadium

AP-003 ist Altums patentierte Interferon alpha 2b Inhalationsformulierung. Die erste Zielindikation ist die COVID-19-Krankheit im Frühstadium.

Alle Interferone (IFNs) haben mehrere gemeinsame Wirkungen: Sie sind antivirale Wirkstoffe und modulieren die Funktionen des Immunsystems. IFNs wurden erstmals 1957 von Aleck Isaacs und Jean Lindenmann identifiziert und nach ihrer Fähigkeit benannt, die Virusreplikation durch Schutz der Zellen vor Virusinfektionen zu „stören“. IFNs werden im Allgemeinen in 3 Gruppen eingeteilt (IFN-1, IFN2 oder IFN-3). Unterschiedliche IFNs werden von unterschiedlichen Zelltypen und unter unterschiedlichen Bedingungen produziert. Während IFNs aller drei Klassen für die Bekämpfung von Virusinfektionen und für die Regulation des Immunsystems wichtig sind, gehören IFN-1 zu den ersten Zytokinen, die während einer Virusinfektion produziert werden. IFN-1 spielen daher eine primäre Rolle bei der antiviralen Reaktion im infizierten Wirt, bei der Blockierung der Virusreplikation und -ausbreitung. IFN-1 werden von Fibroblasten und Monozyten produziert und in Unterklassen unterteilt, wobei die am weitesten verbreiteten IFN-α und IFN-β sind.

Die IFN-1-Behandlung wurde gegen Coronaviren untersucht, einschließlich MERS-CoV, SARS-Cov-1 und jetzt SARS-CoV-2 (der Erreger von COVID-19). Es ist von besonderem Interesse, dass Coronaviren den IFN-Signalweg stören können. Von den drei Coronaviren, die schwere Erkrankungen des Menschen verursachen, zeigt SARS-CoV-2 eine erhebliche Empfindlichkeit gegenüber IFN-α. Studien an COVID-19-Patienten zeigen, dass die Inhalation von IFN-α2b die Infektionsrate von SARS-CoV-2 verringert.

Praxisrichtlinien aus China empfehlen die Verwendung von inhaliertem IFN mit oder ohne andere Antivirenmittel zur Behandlung von COVID-19. Retrospektive Analysen zeigen, dass inhaliertes IFN-α2b im Vergleich zur antiviralen Therapie zu einer schnelleren viralen Clearance bei COVID-19 führt.

AP-003 ist Altums proprietäre IFN-α2b-Inhalationsformulierung. Eine randomisierte, doppelblinde, placebokontrollierte Studie mit AP-003 in COVID-19 soll in Kürze beginnen.

References: XNUMX: Tiley, G.E.D., XNUMX: Biological Flora of the British Isles. Cirsium arvense (L.) Scop. Journal of Ecology XNUMX, XNUMX-XNUMX. XNUMX: Moore, RJ. (XNUMX). The biology of Canadian weeds.XNUMX. Cirsium arvense (L.) Scop. Canada Journal of Plant science, XNUMX:XNUMX-XNUMX. XNUMX: Leth, V.,Netland, J.& Andreasen C. (XNUMX). Phomopsis cirsii: a potential biocontrol agent of Cirsium arvense. Weed Research, XNUMX:XNUMX-XNUMX. XNUMX: Nadeau, L.B. & Vanden Born, W.H. (XNUMX). The root system of Canada thistle. Canadian Journal of Plant Science, XNUMX: XNUMX-XNUMX. XNUMX: Tiley, G.E.D., XNUMX: Biological Flora of the British Isles. Cirsium arvense (L.) Scop. Journal of Ecology XNUMX, XNUMX-XNUMX. XNUMX: Tworkoski, T. (XNUMX). Developmental and environmental effects on assimilate partitioning in Canada thistle (Cirsium arvense). Weed Science XNUMX:XNUMX-XNUMX. XNUMX: Hettwer, U., B. Gerowitt, XNUMX: An investigation of genetic variation in Cirsium arvense field patches. Weed Research XNUMX, XNUMX-XNUMX. XNUMX: Dau, A., XNUMX: Cirsium arvense (L.) Scop in arable farming: Vegetative and generative reproduction as influenced by agronomic measures. PhD-thesis, University of Rostock. XNUMX: Hakansson, S. (XNUMX). Weeds and Weed Management on Arable Land: An Ecological Approach, CAB International, Wallingford, UK.

AP-003

Interferon Alpha-2b for Inhalation

Indication: Early stage COVID-19

AP-003 is Altum’s patented interferon alpha 2b inhalation formulation. Its first target indication is early stage COVID-19 disease.

All interferons (IFNs) share several common effects: they are antiviral agents and they modulate functions of the immune system. First identified in 1957 by Aleck Isaacs and Jean Lindenmann, IFNs were so named for their ability to “interfere” with viral replication by protecting cells from virus infections. IFNs are generally classified into 3 groups (IFN-1, IFN2 or IFN-3). Different IFNs are produced by different cell types and under different conditions. While IFNs belonging to all three classes are important for fighting viral infections and for the regulation of the immune system, IFN-1s are among the first cytokines produced during a viral infection. IFN-1s therefore play a primary role in the anti-viral response in the infected host, in blocking virus replication and spread. IFN-1s are produced by fibroblasts and monocytes, and are subdivided into sub-classes, the most ubiquitous ones being IFN-α and IFN-β.

IFN-1 treatment has been studied against coronaviruses including MERS-CoV, SARS-Cov-1 and now SARS-CoV-2 (the causative agent of COVID-19). It is of particular interest that coronaviruses are able to disrupt the IFN signaling pathway. Of the three coronaviruses which cause severe human disease, SARS-CoV-2 displays substantial sensitivity to IFN-α. Studies in COVID-19 patients show that IFN-α2b inhalation reduces the infection rate of SARS-CoV-2.

Practice guidelines from China recommend using inhaled IFN with or without other anti-virals to treat COVID-19. Retrospective analyses show inhaled IFN-α2b compared to anti-viral therapy leads to more rapid viral clearance in COVID-19.

AP-003 is Altum’s proprietary IFN-α2b inhalation formulation. A randomized, double-blind, placebo controlled trial of AP-003 in COVID-19 is projected to start shortly.

References: